Executive Award for Outstanding Contribution to Māori History

Kia ora koutou, At the Prize Giving session during the recent NZHA Conference, the Executive announced it was making a special award for an Outstanding Contribution to Māori History. This award was presented to Aroha Harris (Te Rarawa and Ngāpuhi) of the University of Auckland. The citation given by the NZHA’s President, Michael Belgrave, is … More Executive Award for Outstanding Contribution to Māori History

Congratulations Lucy Mackintosh, prize winner

The Auckland History Initiative is pleased to announce that its prize for the best paper by a graduate student on the history of Tāmaki Makaurau/Auckland at the NZHA Conference, Auckland, 2017 is awarded to: Lucy Mackintosh for ‘A Strange Sight’: Auckland Domain 1840-1865 This paper was tightly focused on a particular and fascinating aspect of … More Congratulations Lucy Mackintosh, prize winner

NZHA 2017 Prizes announced

NZHA announced the winners of it’s biennial prizes during the conference dinner on Thursday 30 November, as follows: W. H. Oliver Prize: Ben Schrader, Big Smoke. NZHA Best First Book Prize: Ngarino Ellis, A Whakapapa of Tradition. Mary Boyd Prize: Vincent O’Malley, ‘Recording the incident with a monument’. The judges also highly commended Michael Stevens … More NZHA 2017 Prizes announced

RE: Mary Boyd Prize winner announcement

Good news everyone! The judges for the Mary Boyd Prize for the best article in New Zealand History published between 2 April 2013 and 1 April 2015, Emeritus Professor Margaret Tennant, Massey University and Professor Tony Ballantyne, University of Otago, have awarded Dr Felicity Barnes, University of Auckland, the prize for her article ‘Pictorialism, Photography … More RE: Mary Boyd Prize winner announcement